top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFilmstress

Tawkin is relief


Thank you to all the women who came out and supported the event. Last Saturday was my first workshop that I produced for a survivors healing group. As long as I have been a survivor it has always been a challenge to seek mental health. I felt relieved to speak to other survivors and supporters at our workshop. I felt that some women could definitely understand how I was feeling and I could relate to how they felt as well it was domino effect. Some women came out to support other women who were victimized which was truly beautiful and wish to see more folks come out and support my future events.


As I document events in my life for this film it is my hope to inspire someone else to do the same in their neighborhood. Sexual Assault is on the rise and society will bully the victim like they did something wrong. I believe that is why so many of us have finally decided to tell the events that shaped who we are. One woman touched on an important part of child victimization, that as parents we have to have that open dialogue with our children. Asking our children how was their day? What did they do different and keeping that trust from our children so they feel comfortable to come to us if they feel uncomfortable at any time with someone that mean them harm. The woman explained if she had of had someone ask her repeatedly how she was doing and noticed her perhaps she would have felt confident to tell. I noticed that after we spoke about our traumatic events we all agreed talking about it gave us all a sense of relief.


I'm excited for our next event next month click to REGISTER

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page