top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFilmstress

Sexual assault is everywhere...



Cyntoia Brown


First let me say I am so excited to see that the State of Florida did the right thing by releasing Cyntoia Brown. It wasn't too long ago that I affixed my signature to a petition for her release. Spending 15 years in prison for protecting herself and fighting back at the cost of someone loosing their life has struck a nerve with some folks, that say she should stay in prison. I was debating with another person of color about the situation and his thought was she killed someone not that she was a child that was raped, sold and beaten into prostitution but that the crime of murder was committed. See to me it's quite hypocritical to gloss over the fact that a grown man raped a child, beat and sold her into sex trafficking. I think most folks would agree that her upbringing was painful and unjust starting from her childhood.

Now we have this case of a woman being tried for what happen to her as a child and being judged that she committed a crime. Yes a heinous crime was committed she was coached and she may have spoken about it because that is all she knew. She knew no other way at that time in her life and to be continually raped and sore from someone abusing you some folks may never understand. As a survivor the story hit home as a teenager my innocence was stolen my soul was eaten at the point I didn't want to live. Like many survivors the thought or action of suicide was a reality we may have plundered with and might even attempted. I myself attempted suicide and was unsuccessful that didn't stop the thoughts from coming back and haunting me. Inside each survivor there is a will to live and survive by any means necessary and that is why I understand why she did what she did. As a victim you find fault at yourself why did I allow them to do that? Why didn't I walk on the other side of the street away from the bushes. You question yourself all the time without even realizing it.



I want to speak about singer, Robert Kelly. Let me first say I use to love his song "If I could fly" remarkable song unfortunately I have no words for the man. As a survivor he disgusts me because he is a perp that has not only taken control of girls and women but has degraded them by videotaping them as well. I find it quite disturbing that many folks still come to his defense that it has nothing to do with the music. Sorry, it does when we buy and support him this allows him to continue to recklessly wreck young individuals minds and bodies with his finances he can continue the manipulation. I think what hurst is that for over years the Black women and girls bodies have been devalued. You can kill a Black woman and get away with it that has been seen in recent news with Sandra Bland and India Cummings stories both women lost their lives in custody and to this day there has been no justice fo either women. How easy it is to dismiss the body of a young girl like Cyntoia because she doesn't matter her body is not worth anything. I can say that at first it was systematic racism that promoted these images but along the way Afro American people jumped on the band wagon and promoted the image as well with videos like Peaches and Cream where women are seen shaking their asses nude on music videos. The Jezebel image has been an image that Amerikkka exhibited to validate their pathetic behavior and rape towards woman of color.


The issue in America is that the visual representation of woman of color has been hijacked into some Jezebel fantasy that if an Afro American woman is attractive she is somehow some type of freak that wanted it. If she is a bit healthy and chubby she's harmless she's that Aunt Jemima visual you recall as a youth. Living in America society sees some of us American women the vigilante big mouth who won't shut up, like an Angela Davis so if something happens to them, in their minds it is justified she was too loud and needed to be tamed. See it's all visual images that have seduced us to believing that one life is more value than an another. That notion of someone is more honest or trusting because they look different has got to go, it's like old dirty sneakers that need to be washed and donated. We as Americans need to get away from this type of thinking because it rationalizes the hypocrisy that one woman's body or mind is more valuable than an other woman.


As I watched Dr. Ford speak about what she remembered from her assault many people sided with Kavanugh, how could she remember so long ago. When it comes to PTSD and trauma you recall what emotion you were stuck in, no certain order just the emotion and what surrounded you feeling that way. Many women came out with a march and supported her unfortunately when Anita Hill in 1990 came out against Clarence Thomas she wasn't met with that support. In fact I recall nobody was by Anita Hills' side not even her mother they wouldn't allow it. Though when Dr. Ford was speaking she had her support team right there another case in point of not being fair in Amerikkka and not allowing the victim to be supported by family or friends. When it comes to sexual assault we must believe every woman, not just women society thinks are credible but all women and men who come forward about heir sexual assault.


Men are survivors as well. Recent case in point is one of my favorite all time actor, Kevin Spacey. His case of being accused of climbing on a 14 year old boy and sexual assaulting a bus boy by grabbing his genitals. This is yet another case of men and boys been victimized as well. Boys and men tend to not report their rape or sexual assault so the stats for their cases are not as accurate as women and girls. Though I loved his films he is also someone that I will not participate in supporting from here on out.


How's the film coming along you ask? Well, getting back on track. I was able to get some mental health professionals to agree to speak on camera and mentor me through the project. I have also reached out to some celebrities online asking for help. I have nothing to loose except them saying no and I'm kinds of use to hearing no so when I get that yes I have a check for 25k I may have a heart attack to be honest...lol


What do I need you ask? Well, I need to hire a crew but I have a few people I can hire but without funding asking people to standby is unreasonable. I am going to solicit locals and some in NYC and see what filming I can get done under 10k which I think I can half way get it shot and then seek some music and rights. I think I can honestly get close to 10k if I have a dinner and some type of art exhibit with either other artists or an exhibit by myself. I have reached out to some folks about assisting me but they haven't got back to me I will reach out again then find creative ways to raise the money. This week I am updating my proposal my eldest daughter and I are submitting a few for funding in the next few weeks.


Any suggestions please feel free to comment.




4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page