top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFilmstress

Inspired...



It's not the street that's important it's the direction you choose to get to your final destination.

Earlier this year I sent a book to my eldest Sun, entitled 'The Kybalion" a book that enlightens one on Hermetic Philosophy ancient Egypt and Greece. My mother gave me a book this summer and half way got through it but haven't finished so I felt a bit guilty reading this book. I was intrigued by the chapters and the seven hermetic principles. My eyes seem to go straight to The principle of Rhythm not sure why but I started reading this section. "Everything flows, out and in; everything has its tides; all things rise and fall; the pendulum-swing manifests in everything; the measure of . the swing to the right is the measure of the swing to the left; rhythm compensates."

Last week I had the privilege of meeting another woman filmmaker here in the Rochester area. We met at the Starry Night Cafe (coffee shop) on University Ave and spoke about being women of color and how challenging it was for us to get our story out but how vitally important our stories are to the public. She shared how the documentary she was working on about race was finally coming together and she would be editing soon. I shared with her my challenges with recording myself and not really having a team to motivate me and keep me inline. Mara suggested I record myself in the car and get the narration out, wow such a simple idea but one that I could do. I think as an artist I want to be elaborate with the images but what is really important is the content. I did come home and put an ad in craigslist but nobody has contacted me for an internship. We discussed about how my documentary was changing from the treatment outline and synopsis I first wrote out which is normal with documentary. Mara suggested narrating my story so that the audience hears my voice and it also tells a story. I liked the idea which I was planning on narrating parts but to narrate the whole film was much more than I was thinking about doing. I understand where she was going though. Mara also stated revisit the past and go back and forth from past to present giving the film a rhythm.

Ironic her suggestions were in sync with the book I was reading about the principles of rhythm.

"Nothing rests; everything moves, everything vibrates."

-The Kybalion

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page