top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFilmstress

Healing is an everyday process...



PHOTO CREDIT: Brenna Riley


Healing is a pivotal part for survivors of sexual assault. I have met many survivors that think they have healed and haven't started the first step to realizing they need help to heal. I have met survivors that were ministers that still were still in the frame of mind of victims. Many survivors are scared of healing because they have to face the situation of what happened and speak about it. I have to say that is why waited so long to speak about my own victimization because inside I had a fear of facing myself.

As a survivor I have come across some women who stay in that victimization mode. They know they are stuck but refuse to grow or change because staying in the same rhythm gives them a sense of security. When it's time to grow and change to be your best you is when you lay down that facts that you were victimized. The next step for me was getting therapy and analyzing my situation. I have grown to swimming and allowing the swimming to help me heal when I get that feeling of frustration. For some reason the swimming really helps my mental and the water makes me feel secure in a crazy way. I think it comes from the first thing I did after my assault, I sat in a tub of warm hot water crying. Though I was traumatically disturbed about what had a happened to me the water coming from the faucet was soothing. Submerging myself in the bathtub and holding my breathe for as long as could, somehow helped my anxiety. Perhaps that is the reason why the water therapy eases my anxiety who knows...



1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page