top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFilmstress

filmmaker blues


Photo Credit: Brenna Riley

Every indie filmmaker goes through it, it's called the filmmaker blues. Assembling your footage for a teaser or for funding, costs money and requires time. I have been speaking to a fellow filmmaker in Brooklyn who seems to be as stressed for her film as I am mine. I have been racking my mind what can I do to raise major money for this film. What I can afford is the key to the madness. Pop-up photo exhibits selling my images, sweat shirts, t-shirts, post cards and water bottles is what I am thinking about selling on my website.

I felt a little defeated after getting word back from ITVS I was denied for millionth time. I have had to regroup and get my attitude back in check that I can finish this. I think when it comes to being an artist we go through the ups and downs of is our work good enough.

I know I am talented but I feel lost without a professional crew. Though I am extremely thankful for my small crew I feel like time is wasted having to educate folks while I am filming. The perks of having money to hire a professional crew is what I am striving for so I believe I am going to have figure this equation for the best.

My mind is encouraging me to go to Toronto and meet an awesome cinematographer that can capture what I need or assist me with the timeline. I have enough footage to make a trailer but I would like to include my drone shots for my next trailer.

My goal is raise as much money as I can during April for sexual assault awareness month. I have some great ideas to shoot some shots here in Rochester and some shots in NYC. I know I will have to check the fly zones so I don't arrested for flying in a no fly space. Thinking about getting some Central Park shots where I am in a safe area where there is some open space.

Went back to the gym so I can stay focused and healthy feels good having sore muscles...



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page