top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFilmstress

Facts!

It's a fact that the world we live in today is not the same as a few years ago. It's a fact that sexual assault has been on the rise. Every other week there is a news story about a child being sexually assaulted. Just this morning I saw a news flash

FACT! Every 11 minutes child protective services finds evidence of child sexual abuse. RAINN.ORG


"Deputies: Man arrested for alleged sexual assault of a toddler" . Auburn, N.Y. (WHAM)-Wayne County Sheriff's deputies arrested Vince Ferris, 22, of Auburn, New York for sexual abuse in the first degree. Ferris allegedly assaulted a 14 month old at a residence in the Town of Wolcott. He was arraigned and sent to Wayne County jail on $5,000 cash bond or $10,000 insurance bond.

https://13wham.com/news/local/deputies-man-arrested-for-sexual-assault-of-toddler


Too many stories that we hear sexual assault against a child and often we have become immune to these stories. The consistency and drive is what propels me to finish this documentary about my own assault. I have come to the decision of reporting my rape, I am haven't gone to the precinct in the area it happened because it's in Brooklyn and I want to dedicate a few hours to filing a report. It may be 36 years later but if I am continue to inspire and encourage others to speak up I have to do it myself. I don't have faith in the judicial system but I have to do the right thing before I close my eyes for eternity on this earth.


My health hasn't been working for me lately. This year I was in a car accident and back has been out of commission. My passion to get anything done has been a challenge. I have been inspired by other women filmmakers with encouraging words but my health has been my block. I reviewed No! The Rape Documentary and spoke via phone to the director, Aishah Shahidah Simmons who had an open spirit that I could feel through the phone. She encouraged me and was excited share her film she uploaded to Vimeo with me. I was excited to speak to her but unfortunately she wasn't aware my youngest Sun, Sachee was sitting in the living room not far from me ear hustling. I didn't want to continue the conversation because his feelings about the documentary weren't positive. Sachee feels like why talk about it, why now am I bringing it up? Sachee has asked me what do I want attention for being raped? My Sun, who can be insensitive is actually how many in America feel about this situation, so I respect his honesty though it's a healing mechanism for me to finish this documentary. Another filmmaker, Mara Ahmed I met with a few weeks ago encouraged me to write out my narration which I did and email it her and we would speak once a month about my progress. We have crossed paths before here in the Rochester community when I was teaching at Flower City Arts Center. It is an honor that I have such beautiful women in my corner that I have to get out of this pain so I can finish this phenomenal film for change.


Though I have reached out to R.I.T, Nazareth College and M.C.C. I haven't been successful with interns that would like to assist in this instrumental documentary. I am going to continue to keep on and hope to get a crew by spring assembled so I can conduct that drone shot of me over train tracks...

Hopefully I can get this surgery soon and get back to myself so I can complete this film. Let me send this narration off to her and return email messages. If you would like to donate to the film please feel free and click on the link.









2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page