top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFilmstress

Crew

I'm excited to share we now have a small crew for production. Currently working on the outline for shooting the trailer in the next week and editing to accompany the proposal we are sending in for consideration for ITVS and Sundance as well.


Few weeks ago I attended a workshop in Rochester and it was unbelievably long and not informative at all. I was quite vexed that I subjected myself to even go to the event. The person seemed to be sincere and invited the mental health professionals that I gave them. Looking back I wish I had of never done that because now the professionals that I had for my film have decided not to attend my workshop due they think it will be like the event they went to which was not my event. So it was suppose to be a luncheon but instead it was chaotic long ass church service with one survivor screaming into the microphone about his rape. I did find his story compelling but felt it was missing something that he didn't want to share and the question lingered in my mind how did he get raped by three men on the street. Did they follow him home, was he in an environment he wasn't familiar with or was he on drugs and found himself in a bad situation. There were three survivors who shared their stories and it felt so depressing because I didn't want to be a part of a session hearing numerous stories of others rape and assault. I had planned already not to go into detail of my own and mentioned my event next Saturday to the crowd. After I left I felt bad I even went and then questioned myself what isn't right about this picture. I can't put my finger on it but what I do know is that this woman has not healed and she is trying to heal her daughters without dealing with her own pain.


I was extremely pleased after our last event thought there wasn't a large crowd I was pleased with the taping and bonding with the other presenters.

I put together a trailer for our next event and now have to prepare one after each event. I believe if we film as we go along we will have some awesome footage to work with in May. I was speaking to another filmmaker friend of mine and she is working on womens' health as well, specifically breast cancer. Both of us have bene bonding over Marco Polo videos and inspiring each other with ideas and film festivals. I have promised myself that I will attend two this year and release my film at the end of year so I can present next year. I have been watching Ava Duvernay and she has been inspiring me.






2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page